What I’m up to

Leave a comment

January 16, 2017 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Wow, that was a hiatus. I have a resolution to send a newsletter every month, so hopefully that will help me keep the blog going as well. Things currently taking up my life, and other random assorted tidbits:

I have another novel underway, set in London and having a lot to do with ancient Greek statues, which of course means multiple trips to the British Museum.

I also have two jobs, both of them virtual, which is great, but this requires good time management skills.

Shore Poets – I’m organising this month’s Quiet Slam and I’m also the social media manager.

StAnza Poetry Festival – Bookstalls Manager again. Wow, I started volunteering there in 2010, skipped 2011, and have been there every year since. It’s my third year managing the bookstalls, so thankfully most of the schedules/forms are already set up and I just have to tweak the details. (The basic festival schedule is pretty much the same year to year, though of course whether there are books to sell depends on the individual poets.)

I’m planning travel to China (teaching) and Greece (tourism, partly for novel research). I did a LOT of travel last year – 54 individual flights, plus two overnight train journeys – and this year is going to be much lighter in comparison, but I’m going to places I’ve never been before, which I love doing.

I’m answering questions from my Italian translator! That was an “achievement unlocked” moment, and it was also slightly panicky as I’d forgotten a lot of details about my own book (plus reason why I wrote certain things, or particular bits of historical detail). I managed to provide answers to everything, and we sorted out things that weren’t going to translate well. I’m waiting to hear when the book will be out. I cannot wait.

And, for the first time ever, I’m going to be chairing events at a literary festival. The programme hasn’t been announced yet, so I’ll hold off on saying anything more until it is.

Last year I read 11 of the 13 books longlisted for the Man Booker Prize. I’d like to read the other two (especially as one was the winner), and this year I’m gunning to read all 13.

Finally, if you need a bit of poetry in your life, here’s a video Neon Books put together of one of my poems in The Naming of Cancer, Steadfast. Warning: it’s YouTube, so it autoplays.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

