La Bambina in the Bunker

Leave a comment

January 29, 2016 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Sometimes your career is in the doldrums and then poof! An Italian publisher gets a grant to translate your novel.

As reported in the Bookseller (my name is in the Bookseller!!11!!), Publishing Scotland is now administering a Translation Fund (thank you, Creative Scotland!) to support international publishers who want to translate and publish Scottish writers. (And yes, it still amuses me greatly that an American with a UK passport who wrote a novel about Germans counts as a ‘Scottish writer’. Have I mentioned I love this country?) The Girl in the Bunker is one of the eleven novels they chose to support.

Apparently the Italian publisher, Atmosphere Libri, had already made enquiries about my book, so this fund seems to have come along at the best possible time.

I haven’t yet been in touch with the publisher or translator, but of course I wish to be of any help I can. Perhaps I could discuss the specifics of my language choice so that the translator will have as much information as possible to do an excellent job – a task which, of course, should be done in Italy, at a restaurant which serves cannoli. I am extremely fond of cannoli and I’m sure I could be loquacious about translation issues while eating three of them.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

