Events in January 2015, and a review

2

January 11, 2015 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Happy new year! It feels like ages since I’ve performed, so I need to get some new pieces up and running. I haven’t been completely idle, though; I’ve been enjoying Take the Mic: The Art of Performance Poetry, Slam, and the Spoken Word by Marc Kelly Smith (so what!), and I’ll have to get a paper copy rather than reading it as a library download, because I want to highlight entire pages. Even if you cringe at the thought of slamming, it has amazing advice about performance skills which anyone who reads their own work can benefit from. Sorry for sounding like an Amazon review!

You can see the fruits of this labour at my upcoming events:

25 January, Shore Poets: I’m the Shore Poet on the bill, and I’m sandwiched between Niall Campbell and Jen Hadfield! I’d call them two of Scotland’s hottest poets except that I’m sure their body temperatures are within normal limits. Come along and see all three of us. 745pm, Hendersons @ St. John’s (corner of Lothian Road).

(tbc) 26 January, Burns Night Slam: the annual NLS slam. Still waiting to hear if I’ve been drawn from the hat; there’s also a chance I could be one of the judges. 6pm, National Library of Scotland.

…okay, I thought there were more, but my new 2015 diary (Moleskine, The Little Prince) says otherwise. There are other slams in the next few months that are still in the “collecting names” stage, and the date of the Scottish Slam Finals is still to be confirmed as well.

Finally, The Naming of Cancer got a good (and astonishingly long) review today in Sabotage Reviews. I’m also curious about how other people read my work, and I wouldn’t have described this pamphlet as “an inspirational love story”, but I find it neat that someone else did.

2 thoughts on “Events in January 2015, and a review

  1. Laura Argiri says:

    I want to let you know how impressed I am with “The Girl in the Bunker.” It is hard to channel a whole novel through the perceptions and voice of a child, even a very bright one. I do doubt that Goebbels spoke so harshly and sarcastically to his children as he does in the book – most adults then did not stoop to argument with a child or retaliation against a child in the same way one would with an adult, and I think there was a keener sense that children were off limits for some forms of abuse than there is now. But oh, how you did capture his general verbal meanness, which he deployed very freely when he could get away with it. And having him sharpen his tongue on Helga is a more effective narrative choice than having him act like a rational adult with her. I always like it when the micro aspects of history are correctly observed in fiction, too – like his deprecatory attitude toward Helmut and the fact that dreamy little Holde, who didn’t talk much, was his favorite of his six.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

