Still going along

Leave a comment

March 25, 2013 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Mostly with rejections. For a while I think I was averaging one a day, and since they come from all different angles (literary agents, writing-related jobs/residencies, competitions, and just general bread-and-butter submissions), it’s sometimes hard to find a refuge.

Good news today: I’ve had a short story highly commended in the Writers’ Forum fiction competition. I did hope to win, of course, but I’m in the sort of mood where even a near-miss is cause for celebration. *tentatively throws a handful of confetti*

*Thundercat attacks the confetti*

This is why my carpet *always* needs to be vacuumed. Seriously, I think little bitz of fuzz just commit random acts of mitosis when I’m not around.

Anyway, Lipstick is Always a Plus got a nice review as part of a Stewed Rhubarb group review, over at Poetry Scotland – you can read all the reviews here. I’m getting the “a good line in stories, well-told’ line printed up on stickers to be used as a cover blurb. Not many people take the time to review poetry pamphlets (thanks, Sally!) so I like to promote the ones who do.

Meanwhile, I’m reading (along with many many others) at Bletherskites: a Scottish performance poetry spectacular on Sunday 7 April. Starting time 3pm at the Jazz Bar. Come for the poetry, stay for the jazz.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

