NaReLeMo – day 12 – parity!

Leave a comment

November 12, 2012 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

It’s day 12 and I have twelve rejections. I am not sure I am going to ‘win’, as I’ve just checked my list of submissions, and I only have eight things currently out that are definitely being decided in November.

However, something I didn’t expect to hear about for a month just sent me a response. And it was an acceptance. One of the really awesome, fantastic acceptances that only happen once every few years (if you’re lucky) and make you glad you didn’t check your phone in the meeting because you can’t stop giggling. Unfortunately, I can’t talk about that one yet!

I’m doing several events between now and the end of November, so here’s a list of those, followed by the updated rejection list. Everything’s in Edinburgh. I am more than happy to read elsewhere, of course. Every event below is free. Hope to see you at some or all.

Monday 12 November: Blind Poetics, 8pm at the Blind Poet.

Wednesday 14 November: the launch of Lipstick is Always a Plus, 7pm at Pulp Fiction.

Friday 23 November: Take Tea With Turing, ‘an anthology of creative work inspired by Alan Turing, compiled and edited by the School of Informatics, University of Edinburgh writer-in-residence, Viccy Adams. From poems read by robots to comedy twitter-based animations, let these new words bring insight into Turing’s life and legacy.’ Part of the West Port Book Festival, 7pm at Inspace.

Wednesday 28 November: Poetry reading, A little world within itself
‘Peter Riley (Cambridge), Kei Miller (from Jamaica, based in Glasgow) and Tracey S. Rosenberg (from the USA, based in Edinburgh) read from their work in an evening of poetries that chime with themes of human geography in the Galápagos exhibition.’ At the Fruitmarket Gallery. Part of Book Week Scotland.

Updated rejection list, 12 November:

1. Science Fiction Poetry Association
2. Scottish Book Trust Writers in Schools
3. The Carson Prize/Mixed Fruit
4. Folkestone Writers Short Story Competition
5. The Carson Prize/Mixed Fruit sub #2
6. Neon Magazine
7. The Ilanot Review
8. A-Minor Magazine
9. Desmond O’Grady Poetry Competition
10. Thrush Poetry Journal
11. Counterexample Poetics
12. Mobius: The Journal of Social Change

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

