NaReLeMo

1

November 5, 2012 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

I don’t think I’ve ever done NaNoWriMo, because I’ve been on an academic schedule for the last several years and November is always a busy month. I did a faux one when I was working on The Girl in the Bunker, pushing to get a draft finished, and in 2011 I wrote a poem every day during May, which may be something completely different.

Anyway, this November I am going to have my very own National Rejection Letter Month.

It’s kind of a misnomer as many places don’t bother to send you a form email saying ‘sorry’ (though I’m generally only annoyed about that if you have to pay to enter). So there aren’t many letters as such – in many cases I only find out I’m rejected by looking at the webpage and seeing that I am not listed among the finalists, or just noticing that the notification deadline has passed. Here’s the list so far:

1. Science Fiction Poetry Association
2. Scottish Book Trust Writers in Schools
3. The Carson Prize/Mixed Fruit
4. Folkestone Writers Short Story Competition

I have a lot of submissions and applications out which have November as the sell-by date, but I am not sure I am going to ‘win’, as a) I only have 28 apps/subs out there total (at the moment) and some of them I definitely know I won’t hear about until after November and b) SOMETHING MIGHT ACTUALLY NOT GET REJECTED. But hey, there is still a lot of November left!

And if I get to the end of the month and am running short, there is always this little gem of a market:

Journal of Universal Rejection

Anyway, I thought it might be interesting to blog about this as you rarely hear writers talking about their rejection lists (and the proof of this for me is that I had no ‘rejection’ tag until now), so here’s mine, for one month only.

Stay tuned for updates!

PS my book launch is Wednesday the 14th at Pulp Fiction at 7pm and I would love to see you there. Details found on the Eventbrite page.

One thought on “NaReLeMo

  1. […] Rosenberg — who by the way has a book launch happening next week! — is hosting her own National Rejection Letter Month in place of […]

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

