August! Festivals!

Leave a comment

August 1, 2012 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

So it’s August in Edinburgh, which means festival fever is upon us, and I am going to be working and reviewing and performing. Here’s the current line up of performances, but there could well be more [and there, I’ve just added one…]:

Monday 6 August, a poetry reading organised by Claire Askew, 6pm at the Captain’s Bar. Free!

Tuesday 7 August, Flea Circus Open Slam, 730pm at the Banshee Labyrinth. Free!

Sunday 12 August, Story Shop at the Edinburgh International Book Festival, 4pm in the Spiegeltent. Free!

Monday 13 August, Blind Poetics, 8pm at the Blind Poet. (I’m reading from 8pm to 805pm.) Free!

You’ll also see me around the Inky Fingers Minifest though I’m unlikely to be performing.

Meanwhile, I was thrilled to receive my contributor’s copy of New Writing Scotland 30 – I promise to be even more thrilled when I receive my cheque! – which, wow. NWS 28 was around 120 pages; this one tops 320. It will take me a while to get through, but there’s a lot of good stuff in there, I can tell.

Both my full-length collection and my chapbook are sitting in various slush piles. I did get a rejection on the chapbook, or rather it wasn’t put through to the second round of a competition, which was annoying because the press tweeted some of their thoughts from the judging and they were clearly obsessed about using quotations, and whether they could get permissions, and how much it cost to get permissions, and you know, there is something called Fair Use, which is a wonderful thing. But I think the snotty patronizing about ‘trying to seem literary and smart by using quotations’ (I paraphrase slightly) would have done it for me even if I’d moved on to the next round. I’ve been lucky enough to work with small, intelligent, enthusiastic publishers, who educate themselves about the legal side of publishing and encourage writers to use a variety of tools to enhance their work.

And I’d love to work with more! Hint, big smile, etc.

Otherwise it’s mostly job applications around here. And I made a dedicated e-mail address for the blog – writingmostly at gmail dot com – which plays much better than my other account. Excitement? Roll on festivals!

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

