Successes

Leave a comment

June 21, 2012 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

The weather in Edinburgh is its usual grey mush, which makes the longest-day-of-the-year a bit blah. But then, I always assumed my Six Days In The Middle East would be all the summer I’d get, so any other stray hours of sunlight are mere bonuses.

Some good things have been happening, in spite of the rain.

Unfortunately, two of them I can’t discuss specifics of yet – a poem in a journal I’ve tried multiple times to crack and finally did, which I’ve been asked not to mention until the editors make a formal announcement (HURRYUPHURRYUPHURRYUP), and placing a novel with a publisher in the states.

…no, you didn’t miss anything. It was a bit sudden!

It’s a new e-publisher and an old novel – I am doing that not unknown thing where the first novel doesn’t get published till after the second one. It isn’t historical – except in the sense of, I had to retrofit mobile phones into it, because I began writing it before such new-fangled things were in common use. I’m quite pleased and can’t wait to get the contract and start doing whatever edits are needed.

Now, a few nice things I can talk about: last night, Inky Fingers held a Dead Poets Slam, and I came in second! There were fewer participants than expected so we had a different set-up – every poet read twice in the first round, and then three went through to the final. Those poets were Charles Bukowski, Edward Lear, Banjo Patterson, Marilyn Monroe (seriously), Sylvia Plath, Allen Ginsberg, and Dorothy Parker.

(Me!)

I had a martini glass and a cigarette holder (complete with fake cigarette) and two different hats, because really, if you have 1920s-style hats you should wear them, and sadly I don’t wear them nearly enough. I didn’t own any red lipstick, but of course Marilyn had some.

Banjo, Dorothy, and Charles made it to the final, and that was the order we placed in. I haven’t been doing well in slams lately so I’m pleased that I can still bring it home, even if I’m not reading my own work. For the record, my pieces were ‘Resume’, ‘Symptom Recital’,and ‘The Gunman and the Debutante: A Moral Tale’. (I had the first two memorized – long, long ago….)

And, finally, I made the Super 17 of Story Shop 2012, so I’ll be reading a ten-minute story during the Edinburgh International Book Festival. I don’t know the exact date, but I do know the story.

So many good things! Now if it would only stop raining….

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

