April is the something something month

1

April 5, 2012 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Wow, March seemed incredibly long, but I managed not to blog. Sorry about that, those of you who read here regularly.

April should actually be a pretty good month, given that I will receive my first royalty payment! How it works (for me, at least; I can’t speak for any other authors) is that I receive royalties (if there are any) twice a year. Because The Girl in the Bunker was published in early July, and the cutoff dates are 30 June and 31 December, I am only now going to see some money. Cargo sent me an interim statement in October, so I know that I did actually sell some books.

Note to anyone who thinks writing novels is a direct route to lots of cash: I began writing this novel in April 2007. It is now April 2012, and this is the first money I will actually earn from it.

(Not counting a) some nice chocolates from the book group in the Netherlands and b) drinks cadged off my publisher after events.)

I also have a few applications in for jobs and residencies, so the mills are grinding slowly.

I’ve participated in four slams since my last blog entry, coming in 3rd in one of them. I’m still developing a sense of what slam poetry actually is, and every time I think I understand, the next slam ends up contradicting it. Which is fine, because consistency is the hobgoblin of small minds and all that, but I find it intriguing that the only slam I actually placed in was the only one where none of the judges were random audience members. Sadly, I don’t think I’ll be able to attend any slam events when I next go to the states; I would really like to get more perspective. (But the internet is proving useful. My current goal is to write something half as gut-punching as Andrea Gibson’s Blue Blanket.)

Edinburgh’s weather was summer last week, winter now, except it’s teasing us with sunshine, so I will finish my next application and then go outside. Maybe a slam poem about the weather would do the trick…?

One thought on “April is the something something month

  1. I always think, visceral as Blue Blanket is, that it’d be a darned sight better with a heavy edit. It’s definitely not her best.

    Also I think US slam is a totally different animal to what we have here. They have COACHES, like athletes. I think I’d be far too scared to go anywhere near a US slam any time soon…

    Keep on with the slams though. Scotland needs your voice, and I AM NOT EXAGGERATING. x

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

