August (as was)

Leave a comment

August 29, 2011 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Oh my, that was about as much of a whirlwind as I’d expected. The addition of a cold just made the final week more…challenging. *coffcoffcoff*

My book was for sale in the shop at the Edinburgh International Book Festival, as can be seen in this lovely photograph taken by the festival photographer. I won’t know the final sales figures for several weeks, but they definitely sold quite a few, as I signed several for friends and strangers alike.

I appeared twice at the festival – once as part of Cargo’s Unbound evening, and once as a solo during the free ten-minute readings sponsored by Bonhams. They were both amazing, but the second was particularly sweet as I was introduced by festival director Nick Barley, and lauded as a festival success story – after all, I spent the last two years working for the festival, and then I was an author, hanging out in the yurt (other festivals have green rooms…) and attending a variety of receptions. (Many thanks to the London Review of Books for being so generous with their attendance policy!)

I also helped run, and did events at, the Inky Fingers minifest, which was six days of mayhem. I have never before thought so carefully about microphones.

And I reviewed for ThreeWeeks, which meant boiling down many events into 120 words. I’m not quite done with reviewing, though, as I am lucky enough to be going to see Die Frau ohne Schatten in a few days.

Then next week I am away to South America….

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

