Axis of Random Links

Leave a comment

March 28, 2011 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

I’ve got a lot to report – a seminar paper, a podcast (it’s not up yet; I just babbled a lot into Ryan Van Winkle‘s evil little device), and – hooray – an awesome acceptance. Oh, and a guest blog post. But I haven’t written about any of that yet, so here are a few links that have amused me lately.

A lot of what I’m doing lately involves the word ‘narrative’ so I was intrigued to see that the United States government seems to be interested in storytelling. Given that the stated workshop goal included the phrase ‘the neurobiological mechanisms which undergird narrative processing,’ I think I’m going to have to read any related report very slowly with a highlighter in hand. I’d be interested in learning what they intend to do with their knowledge. For ‘interested’ read ‘worried.’

Interview with Michael Robbins who, I have to admit, I hadn’t heard of. (This link probably came from Bookslut because so much that is awesome comes from Bookslut, which, like the novels of A.S. Byatt, always gives me an instant fit of Impostor Syndrome.) But I would like to read his work, if only because he said this:

I would prefer that no one annotate my poems at all! But if they’re going to, I’m not going to tell them not to. I’m not going to go in there and say, This is not what I meant by this poem at all! Once a poem is out there, it’s amazing: it’s not yours anymore.

Yes, yes, YES. The author has no privileged interpretation, etc. In a way, this is a bit sad; one of my absolutely favorite poems that I have ever written ever has just been accepted, so it won’t be just mine anymore. (Right now I tend to recite it to myself when I’m particularly sad about the thing that triggered it.) But, hey, if I stick to the same poem, that’s stagnation, so I’d best let that one go and move onto the next.

But before I get there, how about the Four Chord Song by Axis of Awesome. (I have to admit to needing the song identification song titles more often than not.)

WARNING: when you’re watching this, don’t have anything with sharp pointy bits nearby. Thundercat was on my lap when I was watching this and at the high note for ‘Take On Me’ she bolted for the hills. I notice from their website that they’ll be playing the Edinburgh Fringe again, so perhaps I shall go!

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

