Sometimes the acceptances come exactly when you need them

1

October 10, 2010 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Just received an acceptance letter from newleaf (always a bit worrying when the poetry-related e-mails turn up in my spam folder…), to say they’re taking ‘Alice, Orphaned,’ which is a pantoum. It’s also (unbeknownst to anyone but me) a) a companion piece to the previously-published ‘Rats’ and b) inspired by a Call of Cthulhu character. There you go – exclusive information, right here on this blog.

I’ve been having a rough few weeks so this is splendid news indeed.

It’s also a reminder that, as has been said far too often, poets keep writing the same poem. Last night and this morning I’ve been writing (and rewriting – currently on draft G) a poem with space metaphors galore, and I just remembered that there’s a line in ‘Alice’ about holding the universe within scarred hands. In the new poem, it’s all about the universe being contained in a set of tattoos (not mine), but still, I like seeing the connections. (Or at least, I like seeing them until I get to the point where it feels as though if I write this same poem one more time I will just throw away my rhyming dictionary and go work on the oil rigs.)

And ironically, or perhaps not, I am reading and loving Mary Roach’s Packing for Mars, in which she investigates all the funny stuff relating to space missions. She’s previously written in the same vein on sex, death, and the afterlife. I can’t imagine where she’ll go from here; my money’s on illegal drugs. I suppose I could write a poem on that, too. Anyway, it was useful to have gravity in my mind (as it were) when I was overdosing on the space metaphors.

One thought on “Sometimes the acceptances come exactly when you need them

  1. Congratulations!

    I’m glad the news came just when you needed it.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

