Eleven of Ten

3

July 23, 2010 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

My new year’s resolutions tend to be accomplishment-oriented rather than self-improvement (not because I’m perfect, mind, but because something like ‘whine less’ is not a particularly measurable goal). One of them for 2010 was to have ten pieces accepted for publication.

I’ve had a backlog of acceptances to write about and then one came through last night and I realised that I actually had eleven. Huzzah! *ticks another resolution off the list* Things are moving pretty quickly around here, so rather than string out a backlog of entries, I’ll just do a roundup:

‘Broken’ (poem) is now online at The Talon Magazine, which comes from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. I don’t believe I’ve ever been to Wilmington, but I enjoyed North Carolina when I was there briefly many years ago, so am pleased to renew my acquaintance. There were stanza breaks when I sent it in, and now there are none, and I’m not sure that I don’t like the seamless version better. However, my use of a double negative would imply ambiguity on my part.

Another poem has been accepted by Poetry Scotland. It’s one of the first poems I wrote back in late August when I kickstarted writing poetry again, and while it’s a bit flawed, it has a lot of sentimental value to me, so I’m thrilled it’s been accepted by Sally Evans.

A more recent poem was longlisted for the Canterbury Festival Poet of the Year competition and will be published in the festival booklet. I’ll learn next month whether I’ve been shortlisted (which would mean reading it in Canterbury in October, so fingers crossed).

‘After Tonight’, which is either a short story or flash fiction (or possibly a vignette, depending on how you define such things), has been accepted by The Glasgow Review and should be in their September/October issue.

And finally, only last night I found out that a poem was shortlisted for The Frogmore Poetry Prize. Shortlisting, alas, does not come with a prize in guineas (which is so classy I can barely stand it, but then, I am a Victorianist – and the poem itself is about the Victorian period, come to think of it), but I’ll be published in the September issue among eminently respectable company.

So it’s been a pretty good couple of months, I have to say.

3 thoughts on “Eleven of Ten

  1. julietwilson says:

    Wow, congratulations particularly on the shortlisting for the Frogmore and great you’ve had so many acceptances you’ve beaten your target!

    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

  2. Alison says:

    Wow, go you! The year is barely half over – what have you got left to tell us about?!

  3. tsrosenberg says:

    Juliet – thanks! I’m really astonished (and pleased). The Frogmore was amazing, just because I’ve had so many tiny little comps ignore me, and this one carries some weight.

    Alison – aha, there are things afoot, never you fear….

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

