6 of 10: ‘Holiday’s End’ (poem, Crab Lines Off The Pier)

Leave a comment

July 16, 2010 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

At this rate, I will definitely hit my goal of ten acceptances this year. And there are other things in the works which I shall speak about in the fullness of time.

‘Holiday’s End’ was one of those poems I simply had to walk away from. I took it through more drafts than I usually write – well over a dozen, if I remember correctly, and the final ones weren’t the one-word-tweaking that some of the formal poems reach in the endgame. I was still trying to figure out what the poem was actually about and writing about the actual source material – in other words, I never moved away from the initial trigger, which meant it remained a fairly narrow poem.

(It isn’t a sonnet, but this is something I do find when writing sonnets – the octet is easier, because the turn has to move the poem in a different, wider direction. It’s easier to write octets than sestets.)

However, the trigger has quite a lot of nostalgic value for me, so I’m happy the poem did get published. But I sincerely doubt I’ll ever put it into a collection. I’m still cringing at a particular word choice I didn’t give myself enough space to override, and I’m not sure I left much space for the reader.

The anthology is published by Indigo Dreams, and I am particularly happy that – given the title of the poem – the editors placed it as the final piece in the collection. There’s something nice about having the last word….

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

