5 of 10: ‘Captain’s Colours’ (poem, Anon 7)

Leave a comment

June 30, 2010 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

I received two contributors’ copies in the mail today, neither of which are the one I’m about to talk about.

This one is my poem ‘Captain’s Colours’, which was highly commended by Carol Ann Duffy in the Yeovil Prize last year. I’m thrilled it’s finally published. It started, I have to admit, from watching a bit too much M*A*S*H, but I think it’s transcended its origins. (Which all my better poems do – if they don’t move away from the trigger within half a dozen drafts, they generally never become anything greater than second-rate.)

In addition, the editors of Anon popped round to record me reading it. (That only took one take, surprisingly.) So it might appear on the website or a podcast. I’m still waiting to hear about plans for the launch party, which I hope to attend.

Anon is a lovely little magazine with incredible production values, and a strict anonymous submission policy. In fact, with the introduction of their new online submission system, the editors don’t even know who they’re rejecting. And with something like 3000 submissions for issue 7, they do have to reject quite a lot of work. It’s all about the poem.

Submissions information here and, of course, you can buy a copy of any of the issues (except number 2, which is sold out).

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

