Perfectly paced poetic picture painting

Leave a comment

June 26, 2010 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

I meant to write about the Forge of the Wordsmiths launch, and now it’s a week later and the space in my mind has been replaced by Suzanne Vega (she was awesome and she signed my journal afterwards, so there’s one page of a Moleskine notebook guaranteed not to have any angst on it, and I bought a t-shirt) and the frenetic data entry I’ve been catching up on, and two kinds of birthday cake (neither of them mine, but both delicious – one was lemon drizzle and the other a swirly bundt cake).

So here’s what I remember about the launch:

– I don’t believe I’ve ever done a sound check before. It was neither here nor there, really – I read a bit of my first poem and apparently it sounded fine (from a technical level – I don’t expect the tech guys to give me a full critique).

– Quite a few Edinburgh people came through, which perhaps puts the lie to this Edinburgh-v-Glasgow rivalry I’ve been hearing about since I moved here. On the other hand, there were multiple conversations about The Last Train, so perhaps everyone is glad they can escape Glasgow before midnight.

– Two of those Edinburgh-based people were Peggy and Colin, a/k/a the editors of Anon 7. Which I have a poem in, huzzah. The magazine was hot off the press, and I’d just been handed my contributor copy the day before, and there were copies for sale in the tiny on-the-spot bookshop, so I did a last-minute substitution and read that poem.

– My reading went well, though as it was only three minutes long I didn’t have much time to screw up. Most of the observers were on a slightly higher level, which meant I had to keep looking up, which is good as it’s always too easy to speak to the page. On the other hand, as it was only three minutes, I was still reeling from the rush when I bounced offstage, because I’d barely gotten started.

– The other Three Minute Heroes were pretty impressive. I think the short stories had more impact, perhaps because there was more of a narrative to grip onto.

Claire Stewart has tapped into an incredible creative resource, and I hope these events continue! The next is in Edinburgh in July.

P.S. the title for this entry comes from Claire’s own review of the night.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

