Souvenirs

Leave a comment

April 4, 2010 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Living in Scotland makes my life remarkably easy when it comes to bringing stuff back for the folks at home. I used to rely entirely on shortbread, but recently diversified to include oatcakes and tablet. (The latter is basically sugar and milkfats reduced to a solid cube the density of osmium. I didn’t realize just how much milk was involved until I let Thundercat smell a piece, thinking she would turn up her nose, and found her frantically licking it.) Advantages are numerous:

compact. Multiple small packages don’t take up much room.

Scottish. These things often have tartan on the packaging.

inexpensive. All found at the grocery store or the farmer’s market.

edible. If I am ever again trapped overnight at Newark airport, I shall not starve.

oatcakes are good for my gluten-free and lactose-intolerant friends. Tablet is probably not good for anyone, though it is tasty.

not (yet) on any TSA lists for being used as components for making devices that target air travel. We live in hope they never will be.

As for the books I’m bringing to read on the plane, pretty much only A.S. Byatt’s The Children’s Book, which I stalled out on due to other things going on, so I am going to make a running re-start. I have several books waiting for me in the states, and am bringing quite a few back for friends, so I cannot overload the carry-on bag.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

