Brief market report

Leave a comment

February 25, 2010 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

I don’t normally do market reports – for competitions, incidentally, check out Sally Quiller’s excellent Writing Calendar – but the Yeovil Prize people found my squee post from September and left a nice comment, so: if you are looking for a place to enter a novel, short story, or poem, you might check out their current competition, which closes on May 31.

I don’t have any short stories that fit the bill (or which aren’t already earmarked for other markets), and my novel didn’t make the cut last time, but I’ve been writing quite a few poems, so I think I shall try again this year.

Recently, poetry has fallen a bit by the wayside as real life suddenly became frantic, but it should calm down soon (she says hopefully). I’m still focusing on sonnets, though as I tend to write them out of the house and don’t carry my rhyming dictionary with me (and haven’t yet gone looking for an iPhone app – though I’m sure there must be one), I tend to spend a lot of time muttering my way through the alphabet when I start moving towards the second half of any given quatrain.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

