1 of 10: ‘Stories’ (poem, The Human Genre Project)

1

January 18, 2010 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

I resolved to get ten acceptances this year, and here’s the first, along with the publication: my poem ‘Stories’ is now up on the Human Genre Project. Chromosome 13, because that’s where BRCA-2 is – though it could just as well have gone on chromosome 17, in honor of BRCA-1, as I wasn’t exactly differentiating.

I read this at the Social Sessions 3 (Base Pairs and Couplets) and it turned out to have a nice – well, let’s say, an appropriate connection with one of the poems Kelley Swain read, which dealt with her father’s death from cancer. Unsurprisingly, even though the six of us who read work were all coming from completely different angles, words and language were crucial elements of how we approached science and poetry.

In my case, trying to write about the language of medicine kept turning into poems about family, which ended up focusing on being Jewish, and both this poem and “The Naming of Cancer” ended up at the Holocaust – which was disconcerting, but not wholly unexpected, and probably something I should continue to look into.

I was about to attempt a recap, but Ken’s done a great job here. Many thanks to him, my fellow poets, all the attendees, and the Scottish Poetry Library.

One thought on “1 of 10: ‘Stories’ (poem, The Human Genre Project)

  1. […] proposed project springs from the poems I was working on for Base Pairs and Couplets – poetry, genetics, narrative, cancer, and identity. I’m also hoping to run some […]

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

