Genomics & me

Leave a comment

December 14, 2009 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Ah, Ken’s put up the list of speakers for The Social Sessions 03: Base Pairs and Couplets, and I’m on it. Please do come along. Bits of information from the announcement:


The Social Sessions 03: Base Pairs and Couplets
13 Jan 2010 17:30-19:30

Speaker(s):
Genomics Forum Writer in Residence and Human Genre Project editor Ken MacLeod chairs a panel of new and established poets who’ll give us their readings and thoughts:

Ron Butlin, Edinburgh Makar, acclaimed poet, novelist, and short story writer

Brian McCabe, author of Zero (and much else)

Tracey S. Rosenberg, poet and literary scholar

Kelley Swain, author of Darwin’s Microscope, writer in residence at the Whipple Museum

Ryan Van Winkle, poet, journalist, organiser of The Golden Hour, Reader in Residence at the Scottish Poetry Library and Edinburgh City Libraries

Venue: Scottish Poetry Library, 5 Crichton’s Close, Canongate, Edinburgh EH8 8DT

Hugh MacDiarmid spoke the languages of geology and chemistry, Edwin Morgan brought space exploration and science fiction into poetry, and Gillian Ferguson has inscribed the human genome in her Poems on the Book of Life. The Forum’s own Human Genre Project, a website of gene-inspired writing, has already received scores of contributions, most of them poetry. Is science more inspiring to poetry than to prose?

‘Poet and literary scholar.’ I rather like that. I did put ‘writer’ as my occupation on my UKBA immigration card when I came back from Paris recently, but sadly I wasn’t asked about that. (After doing a data access request on my Home Office file last year, I found that back in the late 1990s I’d actually had enough chutzpah to write ‘poet’.) I suppose I could also put ‘novelist in search of agent’ but then I’d have to explain the querying process to a border guard and really, some things in life are just not worth it.

And now I shall have to think of intelligent, poetic, and/or literary things to say. This, combined with the Doctor Who Christmas special, should make for an interesting holiday season.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

