With no rights in this matter

1

September 23, 2009 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

I’m getting some hits because I’m running a workshop at Ladyfest in Edinburgh on Saturday – hello, potential workshoppers! I hope you will join in – so here I am in the library to get some poems of other people to use for kickstarting creativity.

And I have been thinking lately about a Roethke poem, which was not difficult to track down since I knew the a) author and b) last line: Elegy for Jane.

So I have the feeling I will be jumpstarting myself from that this weekend.

It’s a fun exercise – take a line from any other poem (or, really, a line from the newspaper, or a picture, or…) and dash away with it. I like doing it in workshops because it’s creative rather than ‘read and critique’. And there will be another dimension to it as well, which appeals to a wide range of people.

Here’s hoping I actually end up running the workshop. Or at least, that if no one comes, my friend who’s one of the organizers takes pity on me and participates for the ten seconds she isn’t busily dashing around.

One thought on “With no rights in this matter

  1. Nancy Lynner says:

    Theodore Roethke is a favorite poet, and I hope your students find the exercise jumping off from his words to be inventive for them.

    So glad to hear that you are using him. Did you read his children’s poems?

    And by the way, it is great that Carol Ann Duffy liked your poem.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

