Do we always rewrite the same stories?

Leave a comment

September 3, 2009 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

In some sense, yes, I think we all do, because we all have our obsessions and why would you want to write about something you didn’t like? (Money, I guess, or thinking that you can hit a trend in the market. I hope that works for you, if that’s the route you take.)

But it was a bit annoying to draft a story a couple of weeks ago and realize that I’ve pretty much been writing this same two-hander since, oh, HIGH SCHOOL.

Admittedly, I’ve branched out a bit – taking the three examples I can think of, the settings are bookstore -> library -> box office, so I’m getting away from bookish people (though it wasn’t without a struggle that I got the male character into a biker jacket – YES, bikers can be bookish too). And the female character is actually somewhat fictional, and Not Just Me.

So I suppose we’re talking a spiral rather than a circle, to paraphrase Jeanette Winterson’s comments about Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit, which is okay.

Have finished up my summer money-earning job – though am still having nightmares about misshelving the books – and it’s now into my autumn money-earning jobs, and getting the novel finished, and oh I figured out my next novel. (I put the Auschwitz one on hold because I cannot bear to face another 2-3 years of Nazis without a break. Not wanting to get anywhere near rewriting THIS particular story.) I’m not sure yet if it’s YA; right now it could slip in either direction. I have to admit I’m a tad worried about what my career arc is going to look like depending on which way this goes, but as right now my career is non-existent, I should just work on writing the damn books.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

