Quick Post From Japan

Leave a comment

May 1, 2009 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

I’ve been wanting to visit Japan for at least fifteen years now, so I’m thrilled I finally made it. I wish it had been a little less of a ‘if it’s Tuesday it must be Kyoto’ whirlwind at times, but I’ve definitely seen the high points – which include the Ghibli Museum! (The short film was ‘Mei and the Kittenbus‘ so one trip to the gift shop later and I now have a tiny kittenbus of my very own. Still waiting for it to shift, though….)

I must say that I do feel bereft when I walk past a bookshop and…keep on walking. I always stop at bookshops! It’s what I do! But when I can’t even decipher the characters, there’s little point.

Well, yesterday in Kamakura, as I was on my way to pay my respect to (or at least say ‘wow’ at) the Great Buddha I passed a small secondhand bookshop which was also selling bric-a-brac and bought a small cat statue. So at least I can still support the industry.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

