The long and the short of it

Leave a comment

March 31, 2009 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

It’s never a coincidence that I tend to work on very short stories (under 3000 words) and poems when I have very long projects (50-150K) on the go.  Right now, for instance, I’m working on DNP (85K) and editing a nineteenth-century three-volume novel (143K and 320 footnotes, not including introduction and appendices), and just submitted two short stories to competitions, with a third waiting until I can get around to putting it in an envelope.

At this point I’ll send you round to Sally Quilford’s Writing Competition Calendar if you’re interested in that sort of thing.  UK-based, but lots of competitions have no restrictions on entry.

It’s very nice to FINISH something – even if ‘finishing’ often means ‘I come back a few months later and find it still needs work’ – and that is so rare with a long piece, I think I do need the short ones to give me some sense of forward momentum.

Which is why I feel for Brandon Sanderson, who’s finishing the umpteen-volume Wheel of Time series, and explains in this entry why the final volume is going to be three volumes, with an estimated word total of over 800K.

Wow.  Hats off to you, sir.

I feel the need to write some flash fiction right now….

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

