I love coincidences

Leave a comment

June 7, 2008 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Yesterday I was reading Swastika Night, a 1937 novel by Katharine Burdekin (published, like many of her novels, under the pseudonym Murray Constantine – apparently adopted to protect her family from attacks, but I’m guessing also to avoid the whole ‘dismissed for being a woman’ issue). Google Books has a limited version here which is enough to give you a taste.

I’ll try to review it after I’ve finished, but what I noticed yesterday was one character stating:

I often have imagined him, perhaps on a fine summer evening, for the date at the end of the book is June 6th

I can’t recall ever reading a book when they mentioned a date and that’s the date.

Perhaps I am too easily amused.

Meanwhile, I’m thrilled that my critique partner had only a handful of substantive comments on chapter 1 and also said ‘The writing itself is very, very, very good.’ Of course, I’m now thinking, well, that’s the chapter I’ve taken the most time with, the next one won’t be so good…sometimes it’s hard to accept compliments. I now also, thanks to her, have a cracking idea for a preface which will add multiple dimensions to the story, so I have to go write it!

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

