Books read: April 2008

1

May 16, 2008 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Total books: 12. This month we focus on big name books, mainly because nothing else I read was really worthy of discussion. (Yeah, it was one of those months.)

Stephenie Meyer, Twilight and New Moon

As with the Harry Potter books, I am once again late to the party, but that has its advantages – I was able to race through the first three books without more than a minimal delay. (I’ve lent plenty of books to students but this may be the first time I ever borrowed from one….) In terms of prose style, I liked these better than the HP series – very few clunkers. In terms of plot, pretty good, though the ‘preface of impending doom’ was getting a bit old by book 3, and the event that triggered the great calamity of book 1 seemed kind of random and rushed.

Apparently book 4 is the final from Bella’s point of view, and it seems a good place to stop, as I think there’s only so far that teenage vampire angst can go without crumbling into self-parody – although Laurell K. Hamilton seems to have built a pretty good career out of a Mary Sue, and lots of paranormal sex. (These books do not, I hasten to add, have sex of any kind, paranormal or otherwise. Three books in, Bella’s vampire has barely gotten to second base.)

Marjane Satrapi, Persepolis

I haven’t read many graphic novels – and a few people I know who love the genre are complaining that this isn’t a very good example of one – but it’s interesting to watch the interplay between image and word. Ooh, that sounds moderately highbrow.

Eh, as I’ve said before, I can’t write book reviews. Go read these. If nothing else, you’ll have something to talk about with other people who have read them.

One thought on “Books read: April 2008

  1. kicking_k says:

    Well, I liked Persepolis too. (There, that was profound, wasn’t it?) Craig Thompson’s “Blankets” is another good graphic-memoir.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

