Reading (mostly)

1

April 12, 2008 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Yeah, that’s what the blog has been like lately. The writing submissions have all been rejections (except the Leaf one, which I am glad to have) and I’m going through the complete MS and trying to judge what needs work. Which is: most of it. And that does not make for interesting blog reading.

I did draft most of a query letter, all but 1.5 paragraphs, and 1.0 of those paragraphs are ‘my previous writing’ – which is the fun part, as ‘here is why I’m wonderful’ is always easier than ‘here is my novel distilled to five sentences’. I feel happier for that.

However, agent Kristin Nelson reminds us all that there needs to be a completed full manuscript – she’s referring to pitch sessions, but based on something Jennifer Jackson said, it’s clear this also holds true for any first-time novelist submitting an agent query.

So while it’s a great psychological advantage (to me, at least) to know that I have a query letter draft that I feel comfortable with – and a short synopsis draft, as well – I’ve got to get back to the ms.

Good thing most of the books I’ve been reading lately have made me give up halfway through, huh!

One thought on “Reading (mostly)

  1. Terry Finley says:

    Keep it up.
    I’m proud of you.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

