The charity auction that can land you an agent (sort of)

Leave a comment

March 25, 2008 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

The winner of the Jennifer Jackson mini-auction (the person donating the highest amount to Match it for Pratchett gets their synopsis + 50 pages reviewed) donated way more than I could afford at this time – at least $300 – so I don’t feel badly about not having entered.

However, a few dozen similar prizes will be up for grabs over at the Brenda Novak auction to raise money for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. There are also neat prizes along the lines of ‘I’ll have lunch with you at the RWA convention’ (sadly, I can’t afford to attend those).

The auction takes place over the month of May, so you have plenty of time to register and eye up the various lots. There are also some one-day-only auctions, which will probably be the ones I focus on.

At the moment, I have just over a hundred bucks socked away in my ‘earmarked for charity’ account. I have no idea how much money these things will go for (there doesn’t seem to be a link to any of last year’s information), but I will certainly bid as many times as I can within my financial limits! Hmm, a bit of web searching indicates that a few hundred bucks is the norm here. I’d better get saving. And writing!

There are plenty of non-writing-related prizes as well – books, jewelry, big trips – so even if you’re not clutching a manuscript, you could bid. Alas, I don’t think the night in Nora Roberts’ inn will be auctioned this year, as it burned down in February. Hopefully next year!

Also, why have I never before known about Evil Editor? He’s like Miss Snark’s brother or something.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

