Now that’s packaging

Leave a comment

March 18, 2008 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

I ordered a book from Australia, after AbeBooks kindly reminded me that I’d set up an e-mail alert for this particular book, which I’ve seen on the market exactly once in the last several years. It’s the colonial edition of a Victorian novel written by an Unjustly Obscure Author ™, but hey, that’s far better than the illicit photocopy I have.

(No, you haven’t heard of this author. I promise. More about her at another time.)

I whipped out the credit card, AbeBooks alerted the bookseller (Pioneer Books) that I would like to own this book and please send it me, the bookseller said ‘kindly add another coupla bucks to cover the postage’ (probably in an Australian accent), out with the credit card again, and yesterday it arrived! A lovely rectangle wrapped in brown paper and brown tape.

Which enclosed a rectangle wrapped in newspaper. (Australian newspaper. Mostly car ads, though, so nothing fun to read.)

Which enclosed a slightly smaller rectangle of cardboard and brown tape.

…rectangle of more newspaper.

…rectangle of tissue paper.

…a BOOK! Completely undamaged, I shouldn’t need to add.

(Well, insofar as new damage goes. It was slightly banged up to begin with, and seems to have had flowers pressed in its front cover at one point.)

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

