Grammar Across America

5

March 11, 2008 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Every so often, I yearn to start a blog about bad grammar.  I would call it Grammar Shame (unless someone else got to the name first) and post all sorts of photos about the bad grammar and spelling I see in my daily life. But I never start it, for three important reasons:

a) It would depress me a lot.

b) Probably someone else already does it and has a snazzy web design.

c) I would have to figure out how to get all these photos off my phone.

But NPR has a story about Jeff Deck, a guy who started the Typo Eradication Advancement League, and who is my new hero.

Jeff is keeping a blog of his travels around the country.

I wonder how he will feel at the end of four months of correcting typos.

I wonder whether his tireless work will make any difference.

But mostly, I wonder how he gets his photos off his phone.

5 thoughts on “Grammar Across America

  1. kicking_k says:

    Did you see this?

    http://quotation-marks.blogspot.com/

    Not quite what you mean, but it’s funny.

  2. I think, in order to get photos off of a phone, one needs to enlist the services of teenagers!
    Best wishes, Jim
    http://greenchemistry.wordpress.com/
    http://nearlynothingbutnovels.blogspot.com/

  3. John says:

    What model of phone is it?

    ‘Snazzy’ web design can be done very easily, actually, using various CSS templates.

    And, well, let’s face it: you see all these horrible things anyway, you might as well write about them. If the worst comes to the worst, the NHS will hand out Prozac like they were penny sweeties. ;o)

  4. Actually, there are several ways to get the photos off your phone, and all or some might work, depending on your phone.

    I can put a microSD memory card in my phone (they don’t cost much). The photos I take can be transferred to this card from the internal phone memory, and then the card can be read by my pc using the (supplied) adapter.

    You might be able to email the photos from your phone to yourself.

    Also, if these methods don’t work, you could send the photos to someone else’s phone, if you have a willing friend with a phone that can handle a removable memory chip. Photos are sent just like text messages.

    I hope that this is useful. There may be better ways, but my 15-year old son isn’t speaking to me right now, so I can’t tap The Source.

    Jim

    Nearly nothing but novels
    Chemisty for a sustainable world

  5. Jeff Deck says:

    Ha– most of ’em I take with my camera. I did take that one in CVS with my phone, and I have a special adapter cord I had to order online. I left it behind for this trip, though.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

