RIP, Gary Gygax

Leave a comment

March 5, 2008 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

If you know what a THACO is, please take a moment to thank this man. Without him, an entire generation of geeky kids would have had to find other ways to rule the universe.

I never met him; I’ve never been a serious roleplayer, though I’ve dabbled for years. And it even spilled over into my writing, as a nasty experience in one group prompted me to write ‘When Players Behave Badly‘, which was published in Knights of the Dinner Table. (Remember, kids! If you want to bitch about someone, it’s best to write it up for a paying market. That way, you not only get the last laugh, but you have a check.)

But it’s impossible to imagine what my life would be like now if roleplaying hadn’t been involved. Most of my serious relationships – *counts* – good heavens, I think ALL of my boyfriends were roleplayers of some kind. And I met two at games. Not to mention the sheer outpouring of creativity I’ve been part of, even as a reader or player.

Appropriately, I just reread Sharyn McCrumb’s Bimbos of the Death Sun.

Gary, you did good for so many of us. We will all roll dice in your honor.

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

