Writing meme

Leave a comment

January 22, 2008 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Gacked from Sally.

What’s the last thing you wrote? I’m working somewhat steadily on DNP.  The last thing I completed was probably a poem for last year’s Scottish Galleries competition (NB did not win).

Was it any good?  Well, I thought so.

What’s the first thing you ever wrote that you still have? I recently found two ‘books’ from first grade – one was mostly answering questions about me and my life.  Can’t remember the other one, though I will always be grateful to Abby for being snippy at the boy who was insulting my cover art.  (Not that it was great; I’m a writer, not a graphic designer….)

Write poetry?  Occasionally, though I don’t consider myself a poet.

Angsty poetry?  Mostly in high school.

Favourite genre of writing?  Don’t really have one – fiction, I guess, but that’s very broad.  Haven’t written much SF lately – no good ideas are coming to mind!

Most fun character you ever wrote?  Hmmm.  I had a Celtic poet in my first (unpublished) novel, and he was quite dreamy, and moderately angsty.

Most annoying character you ever wrote?  Annoying to write, or annoying as a character?  In my second (unpublished) novel I had a character based strongly on an ex-not-boyfriend of mine.  Normally, shifting real people into fiction doesn’t work for me, but this hit all the right buttons.  He’s only in one scene, so I didn’t have to sustain him as a character.

Best plot you ever wrote?  I can’t really think of a favorite.

Coolest plot twist you ever wrote?  I have an unpublished story I love the plot twist of – originally it was modeled on Edmund Crispin’s ‘The Pencil’ but then Rhys read it and said, I thought it was going to end thus-and-such a way, and I realized, damn, that’s MUCH better.  Unfortunately I haven’t been able to place the story yet.  (And no, I’m not telling you the plot twist – but do read the Crispin story.)

How often do you get Writers block?Dunno.  I often get ‘blah’ but that isn’t really the same.

Write fan fiction?  No, though I used to write Sherlock Holmes pastiches, and those are fanfic by a slightly more respectable name.

Do you type or write by hand?  Mostly type.

Do you save everything you write?  Yep.

Do you ever go back to an old idea long after you abandoned it? Sometimes, but I’m trying to move forward rather than revising old things.

What’s your favourite thing that you’ve written?  My as yet unpublished poem ‘Captain’s Colors’, I think.  (Technically I guess that’s fanfic as well, as it’s based on M*A*S*H, not that it’s specified.)

What’s everyone else’s favourite thing that you’ve written?  What?

Do you ever show people your work? Not usually.  Rhys sometimes reads final (or not) drafts of SF pieces.

Did you ever write a novel? Heh.  Two, not counting complete rewrites.

Ever written romance or teen angsty drama? Briefly, but it never went anywhere.

How many writing projects are you working on right now? One major project, nothing else actively.

Do you want to write for a living? Yes, if I can make it stick.

Have you ever won an award for your writing? Yes.  *preens*

Ever written something in script or play format?I adapted one of my stories into a radio play, though I’m not sure it really worked.

Do you ever write based on yourself? As much as any author does, I guess.

What character that you’ve written most resembles yourself?  Heroine of the second (unpublished) novel, though she’s much less self-confident than I am – or so I like to think.

Where do you get ideas for your other characters? All over.

Do you ever write based on your dreams? Very rarely.  My dreams aren’t usually all that memorable, and if they are they tend not to have much of a through story.

Do you favour happy endings, sad endings, or cliff-hangers? Not much for cliff-hangers.  Sad endings are probably easier to write.

Have you ever written based on an artwork you’ve seen? Yes, for the Scottish Galleries competition.

Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write?Yes, but I edit enough that I can pick up any errors later.

Does music help you write?  Sometimes, but I usually don’t have any on.  If I do, it’s music I know so well that I don’t actively listen to it.

Quote something you’ve written. The first thing to pop into your mind.  *mind goes blank*  Er…’writing meme’? 

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

