Moments of fame

1

December 26, 2007 by Tracey S. Rosenberg

Looking oneself up on search engines is an amusing experience, though as neither of my names are that unusual there are plenty of other people popping up (including many doctors). But I was pleased to find that a comment I made to Roger Ebert back in April 2006 about Tristram Shandy was not only quoted in his Answer Man column, but included in his Movie Yearbook for 2007. It’s on page 929, and Google Books kindly let me look at it. I also note that the wording has been tidied up in the book version – too many ‘that’s in the original.

One thought on “Moments of fame

  1. kicking_k says:

    Well, I do think it’s an untempting book for the modern reader, but having owned an unread copy for several years, I went to see A Cock and Bull Story and really liked it, and then read the book and adored it. It heads my list of classics that are surprisingly fun to read, closely followed by Don Quixote.

    It’s maybe not that surprising, though, since I had previously read and loved Jacques le Fataliste et son Maitre, which was a set book at college, and Diderot did steal bits of Shandy for that in a blatant and shameless manner…

Leave a Reply

Photo credit: Rahima Subhan

Tiny bio

I live, work, and write in Edinburgh. I travel to other places as much as I can. To contact me, email writingmostly at gmail dot com.

Books

CURRENTLY READING: The Ginseng Hunter by Jeff Talarigo.

